• Alumni Officers Sandy Valley Alumni Association

    In 2004, three women decided to help Sandy Valley High School with its venture to have a new football and track stadium.

    Ronda Wendell Williams, Nancy Faiello Neisel and Kay Weisen each pooled $100 from their personal funds to organize a fundraiser. The three had no idea where this humble beginning would end up, but their efforts have now led to thousands of dollars in scholarship money being given to Sandy Valley seniors every single year.

    The women not only provided the first funds; they also sent handwritten invitations to SV alumni to ask them to support their alma mater. That first event was so successful that it was decided to continue this fund-raising event each year. As more and more alumni were becoming involved, the Sandy Valley Alumni Association was formed.

    The goal of the group, which in many ways is the best kept secret in the Valley, is to support any formal continuing education of any current SV High School senior, to continue communications with all alumni of SV and to support the academic programs of SV Schools.

    The year 2006 was the first year a scholarship was given and  scholarships have continued to be given every year. In 2009, not only was Marissa Geib given a scholarship by the SVAA, but also 10 other seniors were aided, thanks to the generosity of the Class of 1959.

    Multiple scholarships have been given each year to deserving seniors who are going onto pursue higher education. Some scholarships are given directly by the alumni association, while others are given by other individuals or groups, through the alumni association’s leadership and direction. As of this date $77,750.00 has been given in scholarships.

    SVAA officers are as follows:

    Ronda (Wendell) Williams (Class of 1965) and David Ross (1961), co-presidents; Nancy (Duerr) Black (1959), vice president; Carol (Halter) Toms (1955) and Janine (Herstine) Garber (1988), co-treasurers; Nancy (Faiello) Neisel (1956), secretary; Charlene (Black) Stelluto (1959), recording secretary; Stelluto and Black, address committee chairpersons; Gloria (Swinehart) Junkins (1959), historian, Toms, banquet reservations and  Phyllis (Himes) Crone (1964)  honor class chairperson.

    Those serving on the scholarship committee are: Shelva (Pack) Givens (1955), Roger Dieringer (1957) Dick Faiello (1961),  Michelle (Dazey) Ward (1993) , Suzanne (Halter) Artzner  (1962) and  Ross.

    The SVAA meets the second Monday of every month, September through May, and new members are always welcomed and needed. The meetings are held at the Sandy Valley Administration Building.

Alumni Scholarship Banquet Held May 6, 2023 is a Huge Success

Wall of Fame Nomination 2023

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar